Distracted

Standard

Last week was one of those weeks when I had lots to do, and I didn’t want to do any of it. I needed to figure out what to do for my son’s party, I had multiple purses on the list, a hat, a scarf, and some other errands that needed to be done. But each time I sat down to work on those things I just felt so bored, my mind was racing to a million other things I would have rather been doing. So I gave in, I set aside my ‘need to do’ list and pulled out my ‘want to do’ list!

First we went to the store to buy some organizational supplies and some homeschool supplies, and a couple of hoola hoops! We got home and I couldn’t wait to get started on our first project…a new rug! I had seen one on Pinterest, and now we were going to make it. My oldest wasn’t so excited about me using ‘her’ hoola hoop, but she had some fun making the rug with me. Despite my excitement and love for the rug, it did not turn out well. When they say ‘don’t pull the loops tight when you are weaving’….they mean it. I didn’t pull on purpose, it’s just that t-shirts tend to stretch easily, and well……

 

Before...

And after 😦

 

 

So, it didn’t go as planned, but that’s ok. We’ll give it another try sometime. Meanwhile, we’ll just work on our mad hoola hooping skills!

Next on my list was a fabric basket. We needed a little basket to store games and videos in for the kids room. I also so a how-to on pinterest about this as well. I had found a yard of material in the scrap bin at Hobby Lobby for a dollar, so it seemed like the perfect choice for this project. It took me an hour or so because I didn’t need the ID pocket or the handles…just wanted something really simple (and fast).  I love the way it turned out! The only thing I would change is I would buy heavier duty plastic mesh. I just didn’t want to spend a dollar a sheet, but I guess it would have been worth it 🙂

After that I decided I better get started on some ‘need to do’s ‘, so I went out to find my size 8 or 9 needles and couldn’t find them anywhere, but as I was looking, I noticed an old baby quilt that I had started 5 1/2 years ago (before my oldest was born). All it lacked was the binding. I had pieced it, hand quilted it, and then packed it up because I didn’t know how to bind it. I’m sure I had planned to dump it off on my grandmother so she could bind it…I probably just forgot. Anyways, it just so happened that I had recently seen a tutorial about binding….you guessed it…on Pinterest. So I pulled up the link, read over the instructions, was shocked at how simple she made it look, and then I was off to bind my quilt! It took about an hour to bind it by hand…an hour!! I had waited 5 1/2 years to finish it, both of my babies missed out on using it…and it would have only taken me an hour?! Sigh. But at least it’s done now! And I think they will get some use out of it, even if they aren’t really babies anymore.

So, once I got these projects completed and out of my head, I found that I could think a little clearer, I was a little happier, and even though they weren’t on my list of things that needed to be done, it felt good to complete those projects. Especially the quilt, my first sewing project on my machine. It brought back lots of happy memories to work on it, and I hope to finish more quilts soon.

After freeing up some thinking space I was able to have my son’s birthday. I made him a really cool robot shirt to wear on his special day (wonder under tutorial coming soon…). It was low-key, not a super party, but he had a great time. He had an adventure in the morning and a party with family that night…and I was able to make the only thing he asked me for, a robot cake.

Don't judge me on my cake making skills!! 🙂

***Sorry about the quality of the photos, I’m working on that. I am trying to use my camera without selecting the point and shoot options…I am determined to know how to use this thing!

Leave a Reply

